Annihilationist Harold Camping Confirms New End Times Date of October 21st, 2011

Posted: May 24, 2011 in Church, News in Focus
Tags: , , , , , , ,
Harold Camping in 2008

Image via Wikipedia

Well, apparently judgement day was not last Saturday. I listened to a news program this morning that played Harold Camping’s response to being wrong about judgement day… well he would say he is only half wrong. Read more about what he said here.

So I guess the new date is October 21st, 2011.

Now I think this man is completely incorrect for trying to put a date on the end of the world whenever Jesus himself said that only God the Father knows that date (Mark 13:32).

I did not know much else about Harold Camping besides his prediction of the end times. What I learned in his speech that I heard today was really astounding.

Harold Camping believes in annihilationism. To help people understand what this means, I made this video. It is about 6 minutes. He explains some things and I put my thoughts over the audio in certain places.

This is not the traditional view of hell, but like I said in the video, this year has brought us a ton of false teachers who want to change the meaning of hell. Hell is not a fun topic. That doesn’t change the reality of it. Taxes are not fun, but I still have to pay them. I don’t change what I believe taxes are and then try to not pay them. I can try to do that but then I’ll get in trouble eventually.

Rob Bell stripped all the reality of an actual literal place called hell by saying that there is still an infinite amount of chances to change your mind and decide to go to heaven after being in hell for however long. This is called post-mordem salvation. This is not biblical.

Harold Camping says that no one is eternally punished in hell. People are just destroyed and have no consciousness of what happened or anything for that matter because they just cease to exist. This is annihilationism. This is not biblical.

I am so very thankful and excited to hear about Francis Chan’s new book called Erasing Hell. He sums up so much of my thoughts in this 9 minute long video. Please check it out.

Comments
  1. it is going to happen

  2. john says:

    You realise in Erasing hell that Chan recognises that annihationism has substantial biblical warrant? He says he is open to it in his CT Q and A.

Leave a comment