How does your name get written in the book?

Posted: November 24, 2010 in Church, Theology
Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

The Lamb’s Book of Life that is. I just finished watching a sermon by a certain pastor that I will not name because he is not the point of this blog post. Something he said was very intriguing though. The message overall was decent, actually one of this pastor’s better messages that I heard in a long time. But one thing he said jumped out at me and I wanted to try to let the Bible speak for itself on the matter. He gave a salvation story about a nameless and faceless man that could be you or I. Near the end of the message he proceeded to try to show what was happening in God’s realm. He said that the Word of God is powerful enough for a man to pick it up and read it and then give his life to Jesus because of the amazing promise found inside of Scripture. I was totally with him. But then he said that after this man believed then his name was written in the Lamb’s Book of Life in Heaven.  Now, you might agree with that statement. I think a lot of people probably do. The problem is with some of the implications of this thought process.

Is it my belief that makes God write my name in the book? If so, that means, in some way, I save myself. I put my name in the book by believing. And then if this is true, it makes perfect sense that I could lose my salvation, because I could just stop believing and then I suppose God takes his giant eraser and removes my name from the book. Is this really how this works? In the book, out of the book. In… out… in… out…

Or could it be something entirely different? Could it be that the fact that you believe is based on the fact that your name was already written in the Lamb’s Book of Life? You may want biblical support for this, and I would hope so. Plus you, the believer in Christ, might start to wonder when the writing of your name in this Book occurred. Well here’s the biblical support and the answer to this question.

Revelation 13:5-8 ESV

“[5] And the beast was given a mouth uttering haughty and blasphemous words, and it was allowed to exercise authority for forty-two months. [6] It opened its mouth to utter blasphemies against God, blaspheming his name and his dwelling, that is, those who dwell in heaven. [7] Also it was allowed to make war on the saints and to conquer them. And authority was given it over every tribe and people and language and nation, [8] and all who dwell on earth will worship it, everyone whose name has not been written before the foundation of the world in the book of life of the Lamb who was slain.”

Notice in the context of these verses, the reason why these people worshiped the beast is because their names were not in the Book. There is power in our names being written in the Lamb’s Book of Life.

God wrote down all the names of those whom He would save. He wrote all of their names down in this book. He wrote every name of every Christian down. When did He write it? “Before the foundations of the world.” One causes the other. If your name is written in the book, then you believe. God puts our names in the book. We do not. If I got myself in, I would surely get myself out. I know myself all too well. Because God put my name in there, he promises to never let anyone take my name out (John 10:28).

Also something to get your mind’s gears turning; notice how before there was anything (before the foundations of the world) there was a book and the book’s title was The Book of Life of the Lamb that was Slain. So before the foundations of the world, God was planning that His Son would be slain. Redemption was not God’s reaction to everything falling apart, it was the plan from the beginning.

Leave a Reply

