Jesus Christ
Image via Wikipedia

I haven’t blogged something for a little while now. I’m getting back into the rhythm of teaching. I was just thinking about something this morning and I figured I would share it with everyone.

As Christians, because of Jesus’ work on the cross, we are reconciled back to God. As Romans 5:8 says,”… while we were still sinners, Christ died for us.” A problem I was thinking about this morning and over the weekend is that we have yet to become perfected.

–WE STILL SIN —

We are still being perfected as Hebrews 10:14 explains. Even though we are “being perfected”, Hebrews 10:14 tells us that we are perfect in God’s sight. That is because of Christ’s completed work and his righteousness imputed to us fallen sinners. I’m very appreciative toward my pastor Doug Rehberg for reminding me of something amazing. I read it before in an R. C. Sproul book. He said,

“The Father appointed us to salvation (Acts 13:48), Jesus accomplished everything that we needed for salvation, and the Holy Spirit applies that finished work to the elect.”

It makes for a great acrostic. Remember the three A’s.

  1. The Father Appoints
  2. The Son Accomplishes
  3. The Spirit Applies

Another great thing to understand is that were predestined by God before the foundations of the world for salvation and to be conformed to the image of Jesus, as Ephesians 1:3-10 explains. Some people think that reformed theology is that God chooses people to save and it doesn’t matter if that person even loves Jesus or progresses in Christ-likeness. This is just an unfair description of the reformed view of predestination and election and that is not the way reformed people think. 

The truth is that God chose us before the creation of our world, and the effect of that choosing is that we are “blameless and holy before him.”

-Ephesians 1:4

If you read Ephesians 1, you will understand that God chooses us and the effect of that choosing is that we love God. The point I want to talk about today is that even though God now sees us as perfect because of what Jesus has done, we still sin. A couple of verses that I have been thinking about lately are Philippians 3:12-15. It says,

[Straining Toward the Goal]
Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own (progressively growing in holiness and Christ-likeness), because Christ Jesus has made me his own. Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it (perfection) my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. Let those of us who are mature think this way, and if in anything you think otherwise, God will reveal that also to you.

The part I want to focus on is this: “Not that I have already obtained this or am already perfect, but I press on to make it my own, because Christ Jesus has made me his own.”

I still sin, but so did Paul. So did all the apostles. King David, Elijah, Moses, (etc.). They all were sinners. Paul is saying here though that we need to be striving to grow in holiness, or as he puts it, make it our own. Why should we do this? Because Christ Jesus has made us his own. This really is an amazing thought. Jesus has made me his own.

Notice how it does not say that Christ Jesus offered that he would make us his own. It says that he did it! He made us his own. God gave us to Jesus (John 6:37) and he made us his own by his completed incarnate work. This very fact motivated Paul to not look back at his sins, but repent and continue on this race toward becoming like Jesus. Jesus made us his own, and now, by the Holy Spirit’s power, we must strive toward this goal and make it our own. Our past, present, and future sins were all nailed to Jesus on the cross. Repent, get back up, and work toward this amazing goal.



Leave a Reply

