Something to Help You Die Well…

Posted: August 6, 2010 in Thinking
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I thank God that He has given me food to eat today. I am so thankful that I have a place to call home. I am thankful for my beautiful wife who is an answer to many prayers. I am thankful for the many strong fellow comrades in the Faith with whom God has gifted me. As I sit here writing this post next to my sleeping dog, Daisy, I thank God for such an awesome little lovable pet. And I really thank God for my health and pain-free physical existence right now.  God has been very good to me. He has given me way more than I should have ever been given. He has been very unfair to such an unrighteous sinner as myself and I am forever grateful towards Him for that.

The truth is that eventually all those blessings could be taken away. One that I am sure of is health. We are all slowly dying. Nobody wants to talk or think about death, even though it is a reality for us all. There is one thing that I wanted to discuss today. We are all going to die and we are going to need some serious help when we hear a doctor say, “you have __________ (fill in the blank with some sort of incurable disease). You only have a week to live.”

My mom is a Licensed Practical Nurse. When we get into our God conversations she always brings up an observation she has made. She says, “the people that really have a strong belief in God always seem to be at peace when they are about to die. The ones that don’t are scared beyond comprehension.”

I was thinking about how sometimes, randomly, I will have that voice inside my head (I attribute that voice to Satan) start questioning me over a multitude of things. I started to think that if I were to know I was going to die in a week would I really be confident of my beliefs? Honestly ask yourself that. Ever try to share Jesus with someone and they have all these questions? Can you answer them effectively? Biblically? Have you ever told them, “well I don’t know the answers to your questions, but you just have to have faith. You will never have all your questions answered.” If so, I promise you that when you are on your deathbed, their questions will become your questions and you may be stripped of all hope and peace as the enemy picks apart your faith. When death is not some thought in the distant future, but is knocking at your door, you may start to question some things yourself.

  1. Is God really there?
  2. I prayed a prayer and I live a good life, is that good enough for God?
  3. Is Jesus really the only way to heaven?
  4. Why does God have to punish sin? Why can’t He just forgive and forget?
  5. How does belief in this Jesus really save me?
  6. If God is really a loving God, why is there suffering in the world?
  7. What am I really saved from when I become saved?
  8. If God is supposedly in control, why is my life falling apart?
  9. What is the difference between Catholics and all the other denominations?
  10. What really happened in the spiritual realm when Jesus died on the cross?
  11. How does God feel about Muslims, Hindus, and people of other world religions?

The list goes on and on…

Once, when talking about some difficult realities in the bible, I had someone tell me that they are okay with not knowing everything in the bible. Is that what you are going to tell yourself when those questions come to mind on your deathbed? Something to help you die well is the confidence you have in Christ and what He has accomplished for you. The better you understand that and how it applies to everything in life, the more likely you can die well. What do I mean by “die well?” I mean die with an unshakable assurance of your salvation in Christ Jesus. How do you have that unshakable assurance? By knowing scripture and what it means! Listen to Paul’s words to the Colossians;

And so, from the day we heard, we have not ceased to pray for you, asking that you may be filled with the knowledge of his will in all spiritual wisdom and understanding, so as to walk in a manner worthy of the Lord, fully pleasing to him, bearing fruit in every good work and increasing in the knowledge of God.
(Colossians 1:9,10 ESV)

The more you are filled with the knowledge of God, the more assurance you will have. And when you are lying on your deathbed, when the Holy Spirit begins to bring scripture to your mind that defeats Satan’s lies and confusion, you will have peace and an earnestness to be with your Savior!

So go, study God’s word, grow in the knowledge of God, and die well.

May the God of hope fill you with all joy and peace in believing, so that by the power of the Holy Spirit you may abound in hope.
(Romans 15:13 ESV)

Leave a Reply

