Desert Island Book picks… (oh Dwight Schrute)

Posted: July 16, 2010 in Theology, Thinking
Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Wish I was there!

So, if you don’t know this game, here is how it works. If you were going to be stranded on a desert island, what three books would you bring? When this question was asked to Dwight Schrute from The Office, this is what he had to say.

I love that show.   *sidenote: All those items he just mentioned would never fit into a hollowed-out book. Unless it was really big. Like a giant hollowed-out book. Anyways… lol*

So just for fun, what are the three books that you just cannot live without. I’ll list mine here with descriptions of the books and why they are my top three picks.

  1. The ESV Study Bible – What can I say? I am a Christian and the bible is on the top of my list. Why the ESV Study Bible? Because for me this is the best translation and most helpful study bible out there. The articles in it are so helpful when it comes to understanding Christianity and how it relates to other religions and so many other things. The study notes are more helpful than any of the other study bibles I have and also the cross references and footnotes are just incredible. Also, every single book of the bible has an introduction that really helps you prepare your reading, there are many colorful detailed maps and figures that really put you into the time period. I highly recommend this study bible. If you didn’t already know, the ESV is the English Standard Version, which tries to hold as close to the original language, while also being the most readable. It is more of a word-for-word translation, whereas the New International Version is more thought-for-thought. I find the ESV to be a translation that inspires you to go deeper with the Word of God. Some translations are nice because they just give you the meaning without any effort, and for me that isn’t always the best because I need to really study something in order for it to sink into my mind and spirit. If it’s just given to me, it tends not to find its root in my mind. That might just be me though. If you want to find out more about the ESV and the ESV Study Bible (also the ESV Study Bible online is free when you purchase the ESV Study Bible and it is such a blessing. I use it all the time. In fact, I’m using it right now.), click this link ESV Study Bible.
  2. A. W. Pink’s Exposition of the Gospel of John – Among all the gospels in the Bible, the Gospel of John is very different. The other three gospels (Matthew, Mark, and Luke) are called the Synoptic Gospels for many reasons that I can’t fully get into in this post. John is particularly different because, unlike the synoptic gospels, John seeks to draw the reader’s attention to Jesus being God, whereas the other gospels focus mostly on connecting Jesus to mankind. This book written in 1945, helps go through the Gospel of John verse-by-verse. This is called expository teaching and preaching. I just started this book, but I can already tell that I will be reading it the rest of my life. Pink brings so much understanding to each and every word of this book, and he makes such amazing connections that already have amazed me. I hope to one day preach the Word of God so strongly and Christ-centered as this man has done in this book. Awesome! If you are interested, or you just want a taste of how awesome this book is, you can read the whole book online HERE.
  3. Wayne Grudem’s Systematic Theology – This book has been and continues to be one of those books I go to when I really run into hard things to understand in Christianity. I could try to explain it, but this post would just be too long. Click HERE to read an explanation of the book. I’ll let two people who recommend it explain why they do so.

Chuck Colson, Prison Fellowship Ministries
Wayne Grudem understands that every Christian “does theology,” that doctrine inevitably finds its application in the believer’s life. Clearly written, this volume demonstrates an appreciation for the rich diversity of traditions within the body of Christ while at the same time reminding us that our faith is rooted in historic Christian truth.

John Piper, Bethlehem Baptist Church, Minneapolis
Systematic Theology is remarkable for its extraordinary juxtapositions. It is penetrating but not confusing; forthright and unequivocal but not reckless or overstated; readable and clear but not superficial; biblically grounded, even biblically saturated, but not textually careless or glib; devout and reverent but not uncritical or naive; practical but not trendy or sentimental; comprehensive but not majoring on minors; a book for the church but not parochial or sectarian. I expect to turn to it for decades.

So those are my picks. What are yours? Leave me a comment telling me what your three books you couldn’t live without if you were stranded on a desert island, as well as an explanation for each one if you want.

Enhanced by Zemanta
Comments
  1. Kent says:

    Have you seen the ESV Study Bible from Logos Bible Software? It’s scheduled for release in a few weeks, and I thought you might be interested.

Leave a comment